2018 Youth Rally Leadership Camp

Barrow Utilities and Electric Cooperative, Inc (BUECI) is committed to enriching the educational experience of our local students and supporting future members and directors of the Cooperative.

BUECI is offering a great opportunity for two (2) 10th or 11th grade students to attend a week-long leadership camp at the College of Idaho in Caldwell, Idaho in July 2018.  Also, one student will be selected as the Alaskan representative to the National Rural Electric Cooperative’s (NRECA) Nation Youth Tour in Washington, D.C. which will be held in June of 2019.

The Youth Rally provides a full week of learning and fun. Students will attend interesting educational sessions, listen to amazing motivational speakers, play summer games of challenges and participate in fun activities such as barbeques, dances, bowling, and the local water park. All activities and games are designed to strengthen communication and leadership abilities and increase knowledge of the utility industry.

Deadline: Submit your completed application by 5:00 PM on March 1st, 2018

Where: College of Idaho in Caldwell, Idaho

When: July 9th – 14th, 2018

Cost: The Cooperative covers scheduled travel, meals, and program expenses from Barrow, Alaska.  Personal expenses, such as shopping, are not included.

Eligibility: Students must meet the following requirements to apply.

  • Be a dependent of an active BUECI member in good standing (current on bills).
  • Be enrolled as a sophomore or junior in high school, homeschool, or an alternative school (Kiita) in Barrow, Alaska.
  • Students who have previously attended, or been selected to attend the Youth Rally for BUECI are not eligible.

For more information, contact Wendy Battle, Executive Assistant, at 907-852-6166 ext. 6259 or

Click Here For The 2018 BUECI Youth Rally Application

Collegiate Scholarships

The Cooperative provides scholarships of $1,000 to two graduating seniors of Barrow High School annually. The amount and number of scholarships may be changed by the board of directors. The scholarship application window is now closed, but generally opens in late February each year.

Applicants are required to be a high school senior who resides in Barrow, Alaska and must be a dependent of an active cooperative member.  Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher and complete questions related to utilities, goals, and community involvement.

The 2017 Beverly Maasak Ahgeak Memorial Scholarship recipients are Janessa Vinas and Michelle Kaleak.

The scholarships are funded through the tariff rates paid by members of the Cooperative.

For more information, contact Wendy Battle, Executive Assistant, at 907-852-6166 ext. 6259 or

  • Check back in Spring 2018 for the scholarship application.  The scholarship deadline is generally around April 15th of each year.